Legal Services for Individuals & Families

ICBC and ICBC Adjusters

The Insurance Corporation of British Columbia is a provincial Crown corporation that was established in 1973 to provide universal auto insurance to B.C. motorists. McQuarrie Hunter LLP acts for accident victims challenging ICBC determinations and defends claims on behalf of ICBC.

To determine liability and assess damages, ICBC assigns an adjuster to your accident. If multiple vehicles are involved in an accident and liability is disputed, ICBC will assign adjusters to each side. When reviewing your claim, your adjuster will consider the circumstances of your accident as well as how the impact of the accident will affect your life. Particular factors include:

  • Medical reports from your health care advisors
  • The impact the injuries have had on your lifestyle
  • ICBC’s history of similar settlement payments and court cases

ICBC is intended as a universal insurer and, as such, must compensate an injured party even if the offending driver has no insurance or cannot be located. However, it is important that claimants behave proactively in all motor vehicle claims. Awards from ICBC often require some form of legal action in order to be adequately collected.

It is in the best interest of a victim of a motor vehicle accident to contact experienced legal counsel immediately following injury. If an accident victim waits too long, they might miss the opportunity of receiving compensation altogether. Please do not hesitate in contacting the experienced lawyers at McQuarrie Hunter LLP if you have been injured in an accident.

← back to Personal Injury Law

Lawyers in this area:

Douglas J. Conolly
dconolly@mcquarrie.com
604.581.7001 
Kevin P. Hyde
khyde@mcquarrie.com
604.581.7001 
Perry J. Armitage
parmitage@mcquarrie.com
604.581.7001 
Manjot K. Parhar
mparhar@mcquarrie.com
604.580.7058 
Nathaniel J. Hartney
nhartney@mcquarrie.com
604.581.7001 
Valerie J. Anderson
vanderson@mcquarrie.com
604.580.7029 
Neil A. Mulholland
nmulholland@mcquarrie.com
604.581.7001 
Richard D. Molstad
rmolstad@mcquarrie.com
604.581.7001